USA authorized Memofix retailer2 capsules a day · 60 per bottle60-day money-back guarantee+1 (302) 200-3480

Blog

What Bacopa Research Shows, and What 200 mg in Memofix Means

Quick answer

Two reviews found small gains from bacopa extract taken for 12 weeks. A meta-analysis of 9 trials and 518 people saw faster attention scores (Kongkeaw et al., 2014). A review of 6 trials at 300-450 mg a day saw better results on 9 of 17 recall tests (Pase et al., 2012). Side effects are mostly mild stomach upset (LiverTox, Bacopa). Memofix lists 200 mg, below those trial doses, and has no trial of its own.

Written and reviewed by the Memofix Editorial DeskLast updated 9 min read

Brand graphic titled Inside Memofix: a deep plum bottle surrounded by bacopa leaves, rhodiola flowers, green tea leaves for L-theanine and a Panax ginseng root
Bacopa is one of four plant sources pictured in the brand graphic. The label lists it as 200 mg of extract per 2 capsules, the largest of the three herbs.

The basics

What is bacopa?

Bacopa monnieri is a small creeping plant that grows in wet, marshy ground. Its leaves have a long history in traditional Indian medicine, where it was used for memory and calm.

Modern supplements use an extract of the leaves and stems. Makers often standardize the extract to a set level of bacosides. Bacosides are the plant compounds most studied in bacopa.

A common daily amount in supplements is 300 to 600 mg of extract (LiverTox, Bacopa). The plant is sometimes called water hyssop or brahmi. On the Memofix label it appears as "Bacopa Monnieri Extract," 200 mg per 2 capsules.

Bacopa is not a drug, and it has not been shown to work for any disease in adequate trials (LiverTox, Bacopa). For healthy adults, the question is smaller: does it move scores on thinking tests?

Review one

What did the 2014 bacopa meta-analysis find?

It found small, real gains in speed of attention. The team pooled 9 randomized trials with 518 people who took a standardized extract for at least 12 weeks (Kongkeaw et al., 2014).

A meta-analysis combines small trials into a clearer picture. Two tests stood out, and both measure speed, not how much you remember.

Main results of the Kongkeaw 2014 meta-analysis of bacopa. Source: Kongkeaw et al., Journal of Ethnopharmacology.
MeasureWhat the review reportedWhat it means in plain terms
Trials pooled9 randomized controlled trialsOnly studies with a placebo group counted
People518 in totalAbout 58 people per trial on average
LengthAt least 12 weeksShort courses were not part of the pool
Trail Making Test BAbout 18 ms fasterA tiny speed gain on a task-switching test
Choice reaction timeAbout 11 ms fasterA tiny gain in picking the right response quickly

A millisecond is a thousandth of a second, so 18 ms is far too small to notice in daily life. Across hundreds of people, it is still a measurable signal.

Speed is not the same as memory

The clearest results in this review were about attention speed. That is a narrower finding than "better memory," and it came from extracts taken daily for three months.

Review two

What did the 2012 review of bacopa and recall find?

It found better free recall in some tests, not all. The review looked at 6 trials, all lasting 12 weeks, with doses of 300 to 450 mg of extract a day (Pase et al., 2012).

Free recall means remembering a list without hints, such as writing down words you heard earlier.

Bacopa beat placebo on 9 of the 17 free-recall tests across those trials (Pase et al., 2012). That means 8 tests showed no clear gain. The authors called the research "in its infancy."

  • Every trial in the review ran for 12 weeks.
  • The daily dose ranged from 300 to 450 mg of extract.
  • Just over half of the recall tests favored bacopa.

Side by side, the two reviews agree: effects are modest and appear after months of steady use.

Timing

Why do bacopa trials last 12 weeks?

Researchers expect bacopa to act slowly, so they test it over months. Both reviews included only trials of 12 weeks or longer (Kongkeaw et al., 2014) (Pase et al., 2012).

That timeline shapes what a buyer can expect. A few days or even a few weeks may be too early to judge anything. A 12-week course lines up with the Memofix bottles and the refund window like this.

  1. Weeks 1-4

    The first bottle runs out at day 30. The reviewed trials judged results at 12 weeks, not this early. Watch for stomach upset instead.

  2. Weeks 5-8

    The second bottle ends at day 60. The money-back window also closes at day 60 from purchase.

  3. Weeks 9-12

    A third bottle is needed to reach the 12-week mark the trials used. By then, a refund is no longer possible.

This is a real mismatch. Inside 60 days you can judge comfort and routine, but not a full trial timeline. The results timeline walks through each month.

Doses

How does 200 mg of bacopa in Memofix compare with trial doses?

It is about two thirds of the lowest dose in the recall trials. Memofix lists 200 mg per 2 capsules, while the trials used 300 to 450 mg a day (Pase et al., 2012).

The dials below show every ingredient the same way. The bacopa dial is the one to watch for this article.

1,030 mglisted per 2-capsule serving. Each dial shows the label amount as a share of the lowest dose used in research.
  • 67%

    Bacopa

    Label 200 mg · studied 300-450 mg a day for 12 weeks in memory trials (Pase et al., 2012)

    Close to the studied range
  • 100%

    Rhodiola

    Label 100 mg · studied 100 to 680 mg a day in fatigue and performance trials (Ishaque et al., 2012)

    Matches the lowest studied dose
  • 50%

    L-theanine

    Label 100 mg · studied 200-400 mg a day in stress studies (Williams et al., 2020)

    About half the studied dose
  • 90%

    Panax ginseng

    Label 90 mg · studied 100 to over 1,000 mg a day, by preparation (LiverTox, Ginseng)

    Close to the studied range
  • 5.4%

    BCAAs

    Label 540 mg · studied 10-14 g a day in muscle studies (ODS, Exercise supplements)

    Far below the studied dose

Research doses come from studies of each ingredient alone, mostly on attention, fatigue, stress or muscle, not on Memofix. A full dial means the label reaches the low end of the studied range, not that it works.

Two details matter. Trial extracts had a known bacoside level, and the Memofix label does not state one. The other herbs in the capsule were not part of any bacopa trial either. The full panel sits on the Supplement Facts page.

Safety

What side effects does bacopa cause?

Most reported side effects are mild and short-lived, and they mostly involve the gut. LiverTox lists stomach pain, nausea, diarrhea, dry mouth and headache (LiverTox, Bacopa).

  • Stomach cramps or pain
  • Nausea
  • Loose stools or diarrhea
  • Dry mouth
  • Headache

LiverTox also says bacopa is unlikely to harm the liver (LiverTox, Bacopa). That is reassuring, but it covers bacopa alone. Memofix also holds rhodiola, L-theanine, ginseng and BCAAs, and each has its own notes on the side effects page.

When to stop and call a doctor

If stomach symptoms are strong or do not settle, stop taking the capsules and talk to a doctor. The same goes for memory trouble that gets in the way of daily life.

By the numbers

Bacopa research in five numbers

518people in the 2014 meta-analysis
12weeks, the length of every recall trial
9 of 17recall tests that favored bacopa
300-450mg a day used in the recall trials
200mg of bacopa per 2 Memofix capsules

Weighing it up

What does 200 mg of bacopa in Memofix mean for you?

It means Memofix uses a studied herb at a real, stated amount, but below the trial range. It does not mean the trial results carry over to the product.

Many brain supplements hide amounts inside a blend. Memofix prints each one, so you can make this comparison at all. That is a point in its favor. The gap to 300 mg is also real, and the extract strength is unknown.

Points in its favor

  • Bacopa amount is printed: 200 mg per serving
  • Bacopa is the most studied herb in the formula
  • The amount is about 67% of the lowest trial dose
  • Reported side effects are mostly mild

Limits to keep in mind

  • Below the 300-450 mg used in recall trials
  • Bacoside level is not stated on the label
  • No trial has tested Memofix itself
  • Trials ran 12 weeks, past the 60-day refund window

The sales page promises "Improved memory and better concentration." Those are the seller's words. The research above supports a smaller claim about bacopa alone, at higher doses, over three months. See how bacopa fits with the other four ingredients on the ingredients page.

Next steps

How can you judge a bacopa supplement for yourself?

Start with the label, then the calendar. A fair test needs a steady dose, a set start date and honest notes.

  1. Check the amount

    Find the bacopa line on the panel and compare it with 300 mg, the low end of the recall trials.

  2. Look for the extract strength

    A stated bacoside level lets you match a product to a study. When it is missing, note that gap.

  3. Plan the length

    Decide up front how long you will take it. Mark the day your refund window closes.

  4. Keep simple notes

    Write down sleep, stress and stomach comfort each week. Small changes are easy to imagine and easy to miss.

One deep plum bottle of Memofix capsules, Extra Strong Formula, 60 capsules
One bottle holds 60 capsules, 30 days at 2 a day. The bacopa trials ran nearly three times as long.

The label asks anyone with a known medical condition to consult a physician first.

FAQ

Bacopa research FAQ

How long does bacopa take to work in studies?

The trials in both reviews ran at least 12 weeks (Kongkeaw et al., 2014) (Pase et al., 2012). No reviewed trial showed a quick effect after a single dose.

Is 200 mg of bacopa enough?

It is about two thirds of the 300 mg low end used in the recall trials (Pase et al., 2012). No study has tested 200 mg inside the Memofix formula, so nobody can say how it performs.

Does bacopa improve memory?

One review found better scores on 9 of 17 recall tests after 12 weeks at 300-450 mg a day (Pase et al., 2012). The gains were modest, and the authors called the research early.

What are the side effects of bacopa?

LiverTox lists stomach pain, nausea, diarrhea, dry mouth and headache, mostly mild and short-lived (LiverTox, Bacopa).

USA Authorized Memofix Retailer

Ready to try Memofix with the 60-day guarantee?

Order through the authorized retailer's page so your order ID is on file with the refund desk. Two capsules a day; the 2-bottle pack covers the whole 60-day window.

Questions before you buy? Call +1 (302) 200-3480. 60-day money-back guarantee, return shipping paid by the buyer.

Three bottles of Memofix, Extra Strong Formula, 60 capsules each

Memofix2 capsules a day · 60-day money-back guarantee · +1 (302) 200-3480

Order now